The NCRI Breast Group has four subgroups that develop research in areas of strategic need.

The Advanced Disease Subgroup, chaired by Professor Carlo Palmieri, develops research into advanced breast cancer that has spread to another part of the body.


Carlo Palmieri, University of Liverpool (subgroup chair)

Anne Armstrong, Consultant in Medical Oncology and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Christie NHS Foundation Trust

Mark Beresford, Consultant in Clinical Oncology, Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust

Gianfilippo Bertelli, Syddansk Universitet

Indrani Bhattacharya, Clinical Research Fellow, Institute of Cancer Research (ICR)

Catherine Harper-Wynne, Maidstone & Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust

Sheeba Irshad Kanth, King’s College London (KCL)

Iain MacPherson, University of Glasgow

Eileen Parks, University of Oxford

Rebecca Roylance, University College London (UCL)

Peter Schmid, Centre lead for the Centre for Experimental

Cancer Medicine, Queen Mary University of London

Lesley Stephen

Nicholas Turner, Institute of Cancer Research (ICR)

Duncan Wheatley, Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust

The Early Disease Subgroup, chaired by Dr Stuart McIntosh, develops research into breast cancer that has not spread beyond the breast.


Stuart McIntosh, Clinical Senior Lecturer, Consultant Breast Surgeon, Queen’s University Belfast (subgroup chair)

Judith Bliss, Director, ICR Clinical Trials & Statistics Unit (ICR-CTSU), Institute of Cancer Research (ICR)

Adam Heetun, Surgical Registrar, University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust

Cliona Kirwan, Clinician Scientist in Surgical Oncology, University of Manchester

Mairead MacKenzie, Patient Advocate, Independent Cancer Patients’ Voice (ICPV)

Janice Rose

Hilary Stobart

Andrew Tutt, Institute of Cancer Research (ICR)

Andrew Wardley, Consultant & Honorary Professor in Medical Oncology, Christie NHS Foundation Trust

The Symptom Management Subgroup, jointly chaired by Dr Anne Armstrong and Mrs Lesley Turner, develops research into how the symptoms of breast cancer are managed.


Anne Armstrong, Consultant in Medical Oncology and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Christie NHS Foundation Trust (subgroup co-chair)

Lesley Turner (subgroup co-chair)

Janet Dunn, Statistician, University of Warwick

Debbie Fenlon, Professor of Nursing, Swansea University

Melanie Flint, Biologist/Pharmacologist, University of Brighton

Lyndsay Hughes, Psychologist, King’s College London (KCL)

Adrienne Morgan, Chair, Independent Cancer Patients’ Voice (ICPV)

Janice Rose

Jenifer Sassarini, Gynaecologist, University of Glasgow

The Translational & Imaging Subgroup, chaired by Professor Iain Lyburn, provide expertise to ensure that all trials developed by the group are designed to include appropriate imaging and translational support.


Iain Lyburn, Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (subgroup chair)

John Bartlett, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research (OICR)

Janet Dunn, Statistician, University of Warwick

Sarah Pinder, King’s College London (KCL)

Colin Purdie, King’s College London (KCL)

Emad Rakha, Consultant Pathologist, University of Nottingham

Valerie Speirs, Professor Of Experimental Pathology & Oncology, University of Leeds

Rob Stein, Consultant Oncologist, University College London (UCL)

Hilary Stobart

Alastair Thompson, King’s College London (KCL)