London, UK: The NCRI has revealed the winners of its first Excellence Awards:

  • Collaboration Award: Paediatric Adolescent Wildtype & SyndromicGastrointestinal Stromal Tumour (PAWS-GIST) Alliance nominated by Jayne Bressington
  • Impact Award: Paul Pharoah at the Department of Cancer Epidemiology, University of Cambridge and Jem Rashbass, Public Health England nominated by Alexandra Freeman
  • Innovation Award: Mathew Garnett, Translational Cancer Genomics Group Leader, Wellcome Sanger Institute nominated by Alexandra Bonner
  • Outstanding Contribution to the NCRI Award: Richard Stephens, Former Chair of the NCRI Consumer Forum nominated by Emma Kinloch, Roger Wilson, Terry Kavanagh and Yuki Alencar.

The Awards have been created to celebrate the 15th year anniversary of the NCRI Cancer Conference and are directly linked to the key strategic objectives of the partnership, which aims to accelerate progress in cancer research through collaboration.

“We are delighted to recognise and honour the achievements made by these individuals and teams who have worked effortlessly in the community to help accelerate progress in cancer research for the benefit of patients and society” said Dr Iain Frame, CEO of NCRI.

The nominations were reviewed and shortlisted by an independent panel with representatives of the NCRI Partners and the NCRI Cancer Conference Scientific Committee. Dr Frame continued: “We received many high-quality submissions and the panel had a tough decision to make but they felt the shortlisted entries matched all criteria, often surpassing expectations”.

The Awards will be presented on Monday 4th November at the NCRI Cancer Conference taking place in Glasgow at the Scottish Event Campus.