The NCRI Prostate Group brings together clinicians, scientists and patients, carers and others affected by cancer (also known as ‘consumers’), amongst many others, to coordinate the development of a strategic portfolio of research within the field of prostate cancer. The group works closely with clinical research networks, funders and researchers to develop research to improve outcomes for prostate cancer patients.  

The NCRI Prostate Group consists of an executive group, chaired by Professor Hashim Ahmedwhich provides oversight of the research landscape and proactively identifies opportunities for the group. The NCRI Prostate Group also has several subgroups that develop research in areas of strategic need. 

Members are competitively recruited to the executive Group and subgroups twice a year and are advertised on the jobs and opportunities page. If there are not currently any vacancies, you are encouraged to register your interest via email.

Group Chair: Professor Hashim Ahmed

Hashim Ahmed, Chair of Urology, Imperial College London

Gerhardt Attard, Honorary Consultant, University College London (UCL)

Tristan Barrett, Consultant Radiologist, University of Cambridge

Dan Berney, Barts Health NHS Trust

Rob Bristow, Director, Cancer Research UK (CRUK) Manchester Centre

Richard Bryant, Associate Professor of Urology, University of Oxford

Fay Cafferty, Senior Statistician, University College London (UCL)

Simon Crabb, Associate Professor of Medical Oncology & Consultant in Medical Oncology, University of Southampton

Kristina Duggleby, Senior Research Delivery Manager, NIHR Cancer Research Network – London

Sue Duncombe, NCRI Consumer Forum member

Naomi Elster, Head of Research and Communications, Prostate Cancer Research Centre

Simon Grieveson, Head of Research Funding, Prostate Cancer UK

Athar Haroon, Consultant Radionuclide Radiologist, Barts Health NHS Trust

Rakesh Heer, Senior Lecturer and Consultant Urological Surgeon, Newcastle University

Matthew Hobbs, Director of Research, Prostate Cancer UK

Alex Hoyle, Specialist Registrar in Urology, University of Manchester

J Athene Lane, Reader in Trials Research, University of Bristol

Tom Leslie, Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer and Consultant Urological Surgeon, Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences

Simon Pacey, University of Cambridge

Derek Price, NCRI Consumer Forum member

Greg Shaw, Consultant & Honorary Senior Lecturer in Urology & Robotic Surgery, University College London (UCL)

Aravindhan Sundaramurthy, Consultant Clinical Oncologist, NHS Lothian

Hannah Tharmalingam, Clinical Research Fellow, Mount Vernon Cancer Centre

Alison Tree, Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust

Nicholas van As, Medical Director, Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust

Mohini Varughese, Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Somerset NHS Foundation Trust

Richard Wagland, Senior Fellow/Lecturer, University of Southampton

Hayley Whitaker, Group Leader, Head of Centre for Molecular Intervention, University College London (UCL)