The NCRI Prostate Group has two subgroups that develop research in areas of strategic need.

The Advanced Disease Subgroup, chaired by Professor Gert Attard, develops research into prostate cancer that has spread beyond the prostate or has returned after treatment.


Gerhardt Attard, Honorary Consultant, University College London (UCL) (subgroup chair)

Janet Brown, University of Sheffield

Simon Crabb, Associate Professor of Medical Oncology & Consultant in Medical Oncology, University of Southampton

Sue Duncombe, NCRI Consumer Forum member

Silke Gillessen, Medical Oncologist, Christie NHS Foundation Trust

Satinder Jagdev, King’s College London (KCL)

Zafar Malik, Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust

Joe O’Sullivan, Professor of Radiation Oncology, Queen’s University Belfast

Nuria Porta, Institute of Cancer Research (ICR)

Prabhakar Rajan, Queen Mary University of London

Prasanna Sooriakumaran, Consultant Urological Surgeon / Honorary Clinical Senior Researcher, University of Oxford

Matthew Sydes, Reader in Clinical Trials, University College London (UCL)

Alison Tree, Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust

Sobhan Vinjamuri, Oncologist, Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust

The Localised Disease Subgroup, chaired by Mr Rakesh Heer, develops research into cancer of the prostate that hasn’t spread to other parts of the body.


Rakesh Heer, Senior Lecturer and Consultant Urological Surgeon, Newcastle University (subgroup chair)

Mehran Afshar, King’s College London (KCL)

Hashim Ahmed, Chair of Urology, Imperial College London

Maathini Balachandran, PA to Shonit Punwani, University College London (UCL)

Dan Berney, Barts Health NHS Trust

Fay Cafferty, Senior Statistician, University College London (UCL)

Paul Cathcart, King’s College London (KCL)

Frank Chinegwundoh, , Barts Health NHS Trust

Rhian Gabe, Professor of Biostatistics and Clinical Trials, Queen Mary University of London

Emma Hall, Deputy Director, Institute of Cancer Research (ICR)

Ann Henry, Associate Professor in Clinical Oncology, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Suneil Jain, Clinical Reader and Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Queen’s University Belfast

Christof Kastner, Addenbrooke’s Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

J Athene Lane, Reader in Trials Research, University of Bristol

Anita Mitra, , University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (UCLH)

Derek Price, NCRI Consumer Forum member

Shonit Punwani, University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (UCLH)

Greg Shaw, Consultant & Honorary Senior Lecturer in Urology & Robotic Surgery, University College London (UCL)

John Staffurth, Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Velindre NHS Trust

Hayley Whitaker, Group Leader, Head of Centre for Molecular Intervention, University College London (UCL)